Screen Shot 2013 12 29 at 7.21.19 PM 1024x677 Best Album Covers 2013

I’ll never stop loving the beauty of a physical album. Everything gives meaning from the scent of a new vinyl, to the magic of reading the lyrics and seeing the images inside the insert, to the touch of the glossy, matte or recycled paper, and the most important factor — the cover art of the actual overall masterpiece.

Here are 30 of the best album covers of 2013. It’s easy to see in all of these artists, that there was an actual thought to the structure of not only their music but how it visually sounds. Enjoy!


Kveikur1 1024x1024 Best Album Covers 2013

Artist: Sigur Ros

Album: Kveikur

Release date: June 12, 2013

Photography: Lygia Clark

Art Designer: Sarah Hopper

Label: XL


Sunbather e1388364097216 Best Album Covers 2013

Artist: Deafheaven

Album: Sunbather

Release date: June 11, 2013

Art Designer: Nick Steinhardt from Touché Amoré

Label: Death Wish Inc


The Horrors Higher e1388363994277 Best Album Covers 2013

Artist: The Horrors

Album: Higher

Release date: March, 2013

Art Designer: Leif Podhajsky

Label: XL



FortRomeauStayTrue 1024x1024 Best Album Covers 2013

Artist: Fort Romeau

Album: Stay / True

Release date: September 16, 2013

Art Designer: Michael Cina

Label: Ghostly



LocalNatives Hummingbird 1016x1024 Best Album Covers 2013

Artist: Local Natives

Album: Hummingbird

Release date:  January 28, 2013

Art Designer: Local Natives

Label: French Kiss


Baths Obsidian e1388200441896 Best Album Covers 2013

Artist: Baths

Album: Obsidian

Release date: May 28, 2013

Art Designer: Alex Takacs

Label: Anticon


HowToDestroyAngels e1388201602799 Best Album Covers 2013

Artist: How To Destroy Angels

Album: Welcome Oblivion

Release date: March 5, 2013

Art Designer: Rob Sheridan

Label: Columbia


Atoms for peace AMOK cover e1388201701723 Best Album Covers 2013

Artist: Atoms for Peace

Album: Amok

Release date: February 25, 2013

Art Designer: Stanley Donwood

Label: XL


rhye woman e1388365329354 Best Album Covers 2013

Artist: Rhye

Album: Woman

Release date: March 1, 2013

Art Designer: Stuart Hardie

Label: Republic


The National Trouble Will Find Me e1388366053508 Best Album Covers 2013

Artist: The National

Album: Trouble Will Find Me

Release date: May 17, 2013

Art Designer: Bohyun Yoon

Label: 4AD


AAPRocky e1388366989183 Best Album Covers 2013

Artist: A$AP Rocky

Album: LongLiveA$AP

Release date:  January 15, 2013

Art Designer: DONDA

Label: ASAP Worldwide


ColdSpringFaultLessYouth e1388384480557 Best Album Covers 2013

Artist:  Mount Kimbie

Album:  Cold Spring Fault Less Youth

Release date:  May 27, 2013

Art Designer:  Leif Podhajsky

Label: Warp


Bibio SilverWilkinson 1024x1024 Best Album Covers 2013

Artist:  Bibio 

Album:  Silver Wilkinson

Release date:  May 14, 2013

Art Designer:  Stephen Wilkinson

Label: Warp


BEADY eye e1388372483944 Best Album Covers 2013

Artist: Beady Eye

Album: Be

Release date:  June 10, 2013

Photographer: Harry Peccinotti

Label: Columbia


OneohtrixPointNever RPlusSeven e1388200326918 Best Album Covers 2013

Artist: Oneohtrix Point Never

Album: R Plus Seven

Release date: September 21, 2013

Art Designer: Georges Shwizgebel/Robert Beatty

Label: Warp



White Lies Big Tv Best Album Covers 2013

Artist: White Lies

Album: Big TV

Release date:  August 12, 2013

Art Designer: Michael Kagan

Label: Harvest


Woodkid The Golden Age 2013 1200x1200 1024x1024 Best Album Covers 2013

Artist: Woodkid

Album: The Golden Age

Release date:  March 18, 2013

Photographer: Daniel Sannwald

Art Designer: Pierre Le Ny

Label: Green United Music


ForestSwords Engravings e1388366311618 Best Album Covers 2013

Artist: Forest Swords

Album: Engravings

Release date: August 26, 2013

Art Designer: Matt Barnes

Label: Tri Angle


portugal the man evil friends danger mouse e1388370680772 Best Album Covers 2013

Artist: Portugal. The Man

Album: Evil Friends

Release date:  June 4, 2013

Art Designer: The Fantastic The

Label: Atlantic


Jon Hopkins Immunity Artwork hires zps8cbb35a3 e1388372394812 Best Album Covers 2013

Artist: Jon Hopkins

Album: Immunity

Release date:  June 3, 2013

Art Designer: Linden Gledhill/Craig Ward

Label: Domino


LaurelHalo ChanceofRain  1024x1024 Best Album Covers 2013

Artist: Laurel Halo

Album: Chance of Rain

Release date:  October 28, 2013

Art Designer: Arthur Chartow

Label: Hyperdub


BoneSquad 1024x1024 Best Album Covers 2013

Artist: Bone Squad

Album: Skal & Bones

Release date:  May 27, 2013

Art Designer: Bone Squad

Label: Total Fantasy


machinedrum vapor city 1024x1024 Best Album Covers 2013

Artist: Machinedrum

Album: Vapor City

Release date:  September 29, 2013

Art Designer: Dominic Flannigan and Eclair Fifi

Label: Ninja Tune


GoldPanda Trust 1024x1024 Best Album Covers 2013

Artist: Gold Panda

Album: Trust

Release date:  January 22, 2013

Art Designer: Andy Gilmore/Michael Cina

Label: Ghostly


Goldfrapp TalesOfUs e1388381412155 Best Album Covers 2013

Artist: Goldfrapp

Album: Tales of Us

Release date:  September 6, 2013

Art Designer: Mat Maitland

Photography: Annemarieke Van Drimmelen
Label: Mute


Washed Out Paracosm Album Art e1388381795682 Best Album Covers 2013

Artist: Washed Out

Album: Paracosm

Release date:  August 7, 2013

Art Designer: Sara Cynwar

Label: SubPop


zomby with love 1024x1024 Best Album Covers 2013

Artist:  Zomby

Album:  With Love

Release date:  June 17, 2013

Art Designer:  Philip Laslett

Photography: Dany Evans
Label: 4AD


Braids 1024x1024 Best Album Covers 2013

Artist:  Braids

Album:  Flourish Perish

Release date:  August 20, 2013

Art Designer:  Marc Rimmer

Photography: Landon Speers

Label: Arbutus


Bonobo thenorthborders e1388383345472 Best Album Covers 2013

Artist:  Bonobo

Album:  The North Borders

Release date:  March 21, 2013

Art Designer:  Leif Podhajsky

Label: Ninja Tune


BoardsofCanada e1388383522477 Best Album Covers 2013

Artist:  Boards of Canada

Album:  Tomorrow’s Harvest

Release date:  June 5, 2013

Art Designer:  Marcus Eoin

Label: Warp


About The Author

“One glimpse is all it takes to tell you that Music Is Art is something special. You can start by judging this blog by its cover—it’s one of the best-designed, most aesthetically aware music blogs around—but there’s much more to it than just a pretty template. For one, Danielle, the “dreamer/designer” behind MIA, focuses not only on excellent music, but on art, photography and writing and how they all intersect and inform the music. By sharing the sounds and sights that inspire her, she’s inspiring a growing number of readers on a daily basis. By documenting artists’ creative processes, she’s, in the process, creating a pretty substantial, always-evolving work of art herself.” - Nerd Litter

3 Responses

  1. oliviermoore

    Awesome post.

    You simultaneously delighted my eyes,
    introduced me to artists I was not familiar with, thanx…

    Very nice space on “the web”…

    Oli Moore

  2. Sam

    Very nice post, Also nice to see that some of my favorites are in this list aswel :)


Did you enjoy it?...